Jo Ann Dewing Ward,  was unanimously elected president of Esperanza Shelter’s board of directors in June. Ward moved to Santa Fe after retiring from MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston where she served as Associate Vice President for Public Affairs. Ward has extensive experience in public health communications, call center management, strategic planning, marketing, grant writing and program development and evaluation. Ward holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of the Pacific and a master’s degree in public health from the University of Texas. She has served on non-profit boards in Texas and New Mexico. Ward replaces Chris Taylor who recently stepped down as president.

Ward joins executive committee members Diego Munoz, vice-president, Rose Griego-Kiel, treasurer, and Marisa C. Ornelas, secretary, to complete the board leadership team. The Esperanza Shelter Board of Directors also includes members Janie Alderman, Thomas E. Carr, Baksim Goddard, Katherine Segura-Salas and Jo Beth Speyer.