Esperanza Shelter’s leadership is strongly committed to our mission and the people we serve.  The executive team, lead by the executive director, provides day-to-day management of all programs and personnel at both the Shelter and the Support Center.  Esperanza’s board of directors provides leadership for the organization in terms of vision and policy and also provides support for special projects, events and fundraising.


Board of Directors

Jo Ann Dewing Ward, MPH, President

Thomas E. Carr, Vice President

Chris Scharrer, Treasurer

Marisa C. Ornelas, Secretary

Janie Alderman

Kathy Segura-Salas

Jo Beth Speyer, MSW

Diego Armando Muñoz, MA

Baksim Goddard

Robin Hammond, RN BSN MJ CPHRM

Kassandra Roybal

John Littrell


Esperanza Executive Team:

Anji Estrellas, MA, LMT, Executive Director (director

Jorge Fonseca, Director of Finance & Operations (

Kim Kelly, SPHR, Director of Human Resources (

Marcos Zubia, Director of Development (

Courtney Cameron, MS, Director of Residential Services

Shana Aldahl, LMSW, Assistant Director of Residential Services

Sonya Romero, BSW, Residential Services Manager

To reach a member of the executive team by phone, call:   (505) 474-5536